AI Brainstorming + NEW Download

Midjourney /describe

Hello Creative Kaleidoscope.

I made something new for you!

I released the 2D artists guide - concept stage a while back and I’ve finished the second chapter on the topic of Brainstorming.

I go into how you can use Midjourney and ChatGPT to support your brainstorming process and help you generated ideas like crazy. I’ll show one of the techniques in todays post and if you want to read the whole guide, you can find it here.

Let’s get to it!

I love the feeling of walking down the street and being struck like lightning by an idea.

It fills me with inspiration and motivation to get it out into the world as quickly as possible. Those are my favorite type of creations.

However, we can’t always wait for this lightning to strike, so we got to kick start these moments.

One of my favorite ways to do it is with Midjourney’s /describe function. It’s similar to CLIP Interrogator, which I posted about a while back.

It allows us to upload an image and it will return us 4 prompts that we can use to replicate our image.

Upload any image you find interesting, curious or intriguing.

Click on the numbers of corresponding prompts you wish to explore. I usually run all of them, as I’m looking to get as many ideas out as possible.

This will open up a text box, just like remix. You can adjust the prompt as you wish.

Personally, I run them as is for the first time and as I get more ideas, I start modifying the prompt.

a cute illustration of a stag wearing horns, in the style of atey ghailan, rough-edged 2d animation, rural china, filippo brunelleschi, gigantic scale, made of cheese, atmospheric color washes --ar 91:51

When I find something that catches my eye, I go back and modify the prompt and run it.

a cute illustration of a stag wearing horns, rough-edged 3d animation, rural china, gigantic scale, made of cheese, atmospheric color washes --ar 91:51

Within 10 minutes I will have 50, 100 images, narrowing down my prompt until the lightning strikes and dots connect in my mind.

Be careful, as it's easy to get lost between all the generations and prompts. It's good to take a step back, look with a critical mind and think of what you are trying to create. You can then combine the abundance of images and ideas into your vision.

You can find more techniques just like this one that can help you explore wide or deep for ideas on different topics, styles, subjects, etc. There are also workflows you can use with a team to create ideas quickly and interactively.

This is the second chapter of my 2D artists guide to AI supported workflows. I have one more coming on the topic of stylization.

You can use the code “IMAGINATION” for 50% off.

This code applies for the first chapter as well. 🤗

I’m really glad to see so many people explore and embrace new workflows and techniques. The world of creation is changing and adapting to it now, gives us an advantage in the future.

You can stop by my website or social media and as always,

Keep creating and don't forget to have fun. ☀