Text to image AI for visual storytelling

3 ways to do it

Hello Creative Minds.

I am a big fan of storytelling, especially visual storytelling.

With text-to-image AI, we've begun reimagining workflows for visual storytelling. Especially in the beginning stages. From ideation to storyboarding (and everything in between) every part of this process benefits immensely from using AI visual tools.

As a visual storyteller, I've been exploring these new workflow possibilities and wanted to share 3 areas which I think text to image AI is amazing for.

1. Concepting

It starts with imagination and worlds inside your mind. To start working on them, we first need to put them outside where we (and everyone else) can see them.

Text-to-image AI is incredible for this. It allows us to quickly generate all the different worlds, characters, objects, landscapes, etc. inside our minds.

2. Rapid Iteration

One of the most exciting aspects of text-to-image AI is its potential to streamline the character design process. By using text-to-image AI, we can quickly generate a wide range of character designs. Modifying them to our liking, seeing the changes occur in almost real time.

We can add new elements to our designs or remove existing ones. Like in this example, where I removed tattoos and added a joyous expression to my character.

3. Camera Angles

Personally what I find most valuable is being able to choose different camera angles and perspectives.

Close ups, wide shots, aerial shots, every angle conveys a different atmosphere and emotion. Having the option to see your scenes in different angles in a storyboard sequence, makes it much easier for me to get a sense for the flow of the story.

The better we plan our stories, the more impactful they will be. AI allows us to plan bigger worlds, see more ideas and move faster through our planning phase.

As a storyteller, I'm beyond excited at the doors this technology has opened for us. It's up to us to walk through them.

As always, reach out through my website or on any of my social media and start a conversation! I would love to hear what excites you about this technology.

I've also updated my Midjourney Style templates with 4 new styles. You can find the pdf here. It's free.

Keep creating and don't forget to have fun. ☀