Removing elements in Midjourney with negative prompts

Creating concepts

Happy New Year everyone! ✨🥳

Hope you had a wonderful time with your friends, family or by yourself. Whichever you prefer. 

Are you ready to get back into creating?

We'll pick up right where we left of last week. Which was this image of the Wheel of time.

With text to image AI you will often find something in your image that you don’t want.

Text, people, distortions, etc.

With weighted prompt structure we have a way to control this. It’s by using negative prompts.

When you have a weighted prompt you can change the number value to minus. This will tell Midjourney to remove the modifiers in this group from the image.

Giving us control on removing elements we don’t want to see.

Let’s take the image from our previous lesson. I want to remove the person standing in front of the wheel.

I will add a prompt group and add a negative weight to it.

Wheel of time, giant cog suspended in the air, giant mechanical cog ::3 vast black room, cosmic space, time continuum ::1 mystical energy, magical energy ::1 mysterious atmosphere, galactic atmosphere ::1 galactic scale ::1 2d animation, hand drawn animation, flat animation, frame by frame animation ::2 human, silhouette, creature, person ::-1

The overall balance of the weights needs to be positive. So I can’t go too far into minus.

Adjust the weights and add more modifier groups if necessary. I want to make the animation style stronger, so I'll adjust the value of that modifier group. 

Wheel of time, giant cog suspended in the air, giant mechanical cog ::3 vast black room, cosmic space, time continuum ::1 mystical energy, magical energy ::1 mysterious atmosphere, galactic atmosphere ::1 galactic scale ::1 2d animation, hand drawn animation, flat animation, frame by frame animation ::3 human, silhouette, creature, person ::-1

I run the adjusted prompts fresh, without remixing, as I'm exploring different ideas for my concept.

If you found a concept you like, you can use the same workflow with remix as well. 

If you find these tips useful, let me know on any of my social media.

I also have a giveaway going on for my Udemy course. If you're looking to dive deeper into Midjourney and get to know AI creation tools, this is a great opportunity to do so. 

Keep creating everyone and don't forget to have fun. 

See you soon.☀