Motion Graphics with AI

Combine AI with animation

Hello Friend

Want to learn something cool?

Cool in a way that will allow you to explore new formats of creativity.

I made this last week. Playing around with Fable.app 

I’ve made motion graphics in the past and I wanted to see how the full workflow + using AI in Fable would feel like.

It feels fun and smooth. Slightly experimental.

Let me show you.

I started a new project in Fable. The oh so familiar empty screen waiting to be filled and infused with life.

The interface feels clean with the essential features I need.

Tools at the top, timeline at the bottom, controls on the right.

I go with a very simple idea - a bouncing ball.

For me simple ideas are the most fun to execute with AI. Just because it can be interpreted and transformed in so many ways.

I animate the position of the ball. As well as the scale. Gotta give the ball a bit of character with squash and stretch. 😁

Clicking on the keyframes, I can access the graph editor. Here I can control How quickly the ball moves.

It’s a graph editor. Like any other. It has levers and simple controls. You move it around, see how the speed feels, adjust, etc. I liked using it. 😁

I make the movement I want and now it’s time to use the AI inside Fable.

By going to the transitions and effects on the right side, I can access AI lenses

You can see these as style transfers.

We can write a prompt with the selected style, which will be applied to our animation.

For me, this open soooo many doors in my mind. A simple ball animation can become a basketball bouncing, an apple falling from the tree, Earth cruising through the universe..

Or in this example, a sunset above the ocean.

The strong controls here are the creativity and edge influence.

Creativity means how much the original will be adjusted and transformed - the higher we go, the more AI will transform.

Edge influence (you have depth and luma as well) means how much the edges of our shapes will be defined. The higher we go, the more the edges will stay sharp and defined, as in our original animation.

Honestly, I had a great time playing around with this. It is a nice balance of AI convenience and human expertise.

I can control what will happen in my animation and use AI to explore different styles, ideas and concepts.

If you’ve never tried doing animations or motion graphics, I would encourage you to give it a try. Start simple and use AI to visualize what you want to see.

I promise you will have fun. 😁

If you do create something, we would love to see what you made in our group. Encourage and inspire each other further. 😁

Keep creating and always remember to have fun. ☀️