Engineering a Style Prompt

How I made the ukiyoe style.

Hello Visual Wizards.

If you’re receiving these mails, there is a high chance you downloaded my free PDF on Midjourney style templates (here is the link if not).

I’ve shared a lot of my prompt templates and examples of how you can use them. More than that, I want to share my process on how I created one of my recent templates - Ukiyoe.

My process combines ChatGPT and Midjourney.

First, we need a style we want to create. If you’re lacking ideas, we can ask ChatGPT for them.

Personally, I already have a style in mind I want to create - Ukiyoe. What I need to create the prompt in Midjourney are details. So I ask ChatGPT for them.

I will translate each of these elements into a modifier group of a weighted prompt in Midjourney.

As always, first is the subject ::

Second is the style I want to emulate ukiyo-e, woodblock print, wood texture ::

Third are the bold colors bright colors, bold colors, mineral pigments ::

Fourth are the lines bold lines, black outline, strong contrasts ::

Fifth is the flattened perspective flattened perspective, lack of depth ::

Sixth is composition emphasis, contrast between lines and color :: for extra emphasis on what I want to see.

Seventh is the negative modifier group on what I don’t want to see realism, photography, 3d ::

I put everything together and apply values to each modifier group, adjust them according to the look I want, and I have my prompt template:

Brilliant bird of paradise ::5 ukiyo-e, woodblock print, wood texture ::3 bright colors, bold colors, mineral pigments ::2 bold lines, black outline, strong contrasts ::2 flattened perspective, lack of depth ::2 composition emphasis, contrast between lines and color ::1 realism, photography, 3d ::-2

As always, reach out through my website or on any of my social media and start a conversation! I would love to hear how you use this technique to

Keep creating and don't forget to have fun. ☀️