Creating Concept Images with Midjourney

Hello Creative Minds.

Hope your day is filled with beautiful ideas you want to bring to life.

Because I'm going to share one way you can create concept images.

It always starts with an idea. A concept. Something you have in mind and you want to see.

For my example this is the Wheel of time. A giant cog, suspended in the air in a space with seemingly no end in sight. Turning every second, stamping each moment into the time continuum.

To begin, I will follow the basic structure:

subject + details + style + parameters

Wheel of time, giant cog suspended in the air, vast black room, cosmic space, time continuum, mystical energy, magical energy, mysterious atmosphere, galactic atmosphere, galactic scale --v 4

These images show potential, so I will move onto my next step, which is convert the prompt into a weighted prompt.

Wheel of time, giant cog suspended in the air ::1 vast black room, cosmic space, time continuum ::1 mystical energy, magical energy ::1 mysterious atmosphere, galactic atmosphere ::1 galactic scale ::1 --v 4

I will rerun the prompt without making variations.

I can see the top two images have potential, and the bottom ones don't show what I want.

Which is a mechanical cog. To fix that, I will change the weight values of the prompt and add more descriptors for the cog.

Wheel of time, giant cog suspended in the air, giant mechanical cog ::3 vast black room, cosmic space, time continuum ::1 mystical energy, magical energy ::1 mysterious atmosphere, galactic atmosphere ::1 galactic scale ::1 --v 4

I will rerun the prompt without making variations.

Almost there.

The only thing left is the style. While I'm happy with the cosmic color palette, I want to have a more personalized style. What I have in mind is a hand drawn animation style.

Wheel of time, giant cog suspended in the air, giant mechanical cog ::3 vast black room, cosmic space, time continuum ::1 mystical energy, magical energy ::1 mysterious atmosphere, galactic atmosphere ::1 galactic scale ::1 2d animation, hand drawn animation, flat animation, frame by frame animation ::2 --v 4

Again, I will rerun the prompt without making variations.

You can go very deep with this workflow. Adding more modifier groups will give you more control over the image with the weight values.

It's a great way to explore concepts you have in mind before starting to work on your final vision.

If you feel like some elements in these images are disrupting your concepts (like the person in the image above), I'll show you one way you can remove elements from your images next week.

Until then, say hello to me on any of my social media.

I also have a giveaway going on for my Udemy course. If you're looking to dive deeper into Midjourney and get to know AI creation tools, this is a great opportunity to do so.

Keep creating everyone and don't forget to have fun.

See you soon.☀